promiscuous, slut, slutty, tramp and dirty old man

February 16, 2011

I like to think I’m pretty good with words, but my vocabulary has blind spots. I’m not too clear on how promiscuous compares with slutty, or slut compares with tramp, and I’m unwilling or unable to pin these words on actual people, even when I have semi-reliable reports of their sexual history.

I would think that promiscuity is simply a matter of numbers, but I don’t know the threshold at which it becomes applicable. It must be age-adjusted; ten partners would make for promiscuity in junior high, but not in the old folks’ home. Sluttiness, on the other hand, strikes me as more a matter of style; it makes me think of bare thighs and panties on view. Not that there is anything wrong with that.

Dirty old man is a phrase closer to home. It is imagined that we gentlemen of years should be immune to the charms of pretty young things. Well, we’re not. We’re not supposed to act on any such urges, but some do, although I think the supply of perfectly attractive divorcees is still adequate to meet the need. (I have needs, but not that particular need.) You’re not a dirty old man if you hit on a dame over forty years of age.

2 Responses to “promiscuous, slut, slutty, tramp and dirty old man”


  1. The last sentence is great. My current love interest is 60 and I am 43. Nothing wrong with that! I like older men!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 53 other followers

